Ginger & Molasses Cookies

Sometimes a day goes wrong.

For me it began with waking up exxttrraa late for work (I get upset when I’m late), followed by an extremely slow paced day waiting tables (being bored is sort of not profitable, which is frustrating), and then finally ended with me spilling a garbage bag that smelled SO BAD all over myself and the 19th street sidewalk (please just imagine me wearing my husbands big floppy sandals, dragging this huge bag, when it all of a sudden bursts and engulfs half my body. The worst.)

When I write it out it doesn’t sound so bad.

In reality, it wasn’t. I easily get caught up in what I want to do, and when none of it seems to be going the way I planned, I get a little discouraged. And there’s nothing like feeling discouraged   b e f o r e   you spill a pile of wet garbage on yourself. The way you feel after involves a lot more swear words.

How do I make a comeback from profanity-studded frustration?

It took a few things…

#1: Kick the wrought iron gate reeeaally hard

#2: Watch Jiro Dreams of Sushi on Netflix

#3: Bake these cookies

As I’ve said in the past, baking is not my forte. And my focus is always on giving my body nutritious food.

Something about that hot garbage just made me want the real deal: decadent, chewy cookies.

So I did it. I baked a batch of cookies with regular AP flour (NOOOOOO), regular old sugar, and lots of other tasty things.

You know what I realized? Its okay. ITS OKAY! A few terrible, fattening, sugary, chewy, gingery, crunchy, amazing cookies won’t end me. It won’t end my dedication to a healthy lifestyle either. In moderation, a good dessert is a great thing.

We should all enjoy a little sweet every so often. And when most things in my day didn’t want to go as planned, it was nice to be able to create something that did, even if its only a teensy tiny little bit of control. That little bit was all I needed.

These cookies were easy to make. The recipe is simple, molasses is an amazing ingredient, and I ate like four. Or five.

So when I most often sign off telling you to run off–leave your computer immediately– try this recipe now! I don’t want to tell you that this time. NO! Don’t go make this right away! WAIT. Store it somewhere safe in your mind (or your email, pinterest, twitter, whatever) and remember it when you need a little pick me up. When the only thing that will make you feel better is the sweet, molasses crunch of an awesome cookie. It will be there for you.

Ginger & Molasses Cookies

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1-3/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup plus extra for rolling
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup molasses
Directions: In small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, & ginger; set aside. With electric mixer on low speed, blend together the melted butter, 1 cup sugar, and egg until smooth. Stir in molasses. With mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture to molasses mixture; mix until completely combined. Cover and chill dough in refrigerator for 1 hour.
I love my mixer so very much. 
Action shot! What what!
Im such a messy baker.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Roll dough into walnut sized balls (use cookie scoop, if available); roll each ball in remaining sugar. Place 2 inches apart on parchment lined baking sheets. Bake 8-10 minutes just until tops are cracked all over, but cookies are still a bit gooey inside the center cracks. Cool on wire racks. Makes roughly 20 cookies.

Jake before getting his cookies… if only I had taken an after!

4 thoughts on “Ginger & Molasses Cookies

  1. Love it! I don’t believe you actually kicked the gate? Really like seeing pictures of you two incorporated between the writing and recipes. You are a beautiful couple and help personify this blog which will draw more people to following not just for recipes but for the real life of a pair of fantastic people…

    • I don’t get that mad that often… but really it was the worst garbage smell everrr, and I lost a lil bit of my composure. Lol. I’m definitely trying to remember to take pictures of us sometimes, but we aren’t as interesting as the food! :) Haha

Leave a Reply

